Albemarle’s Moyers named POTY on Group 5A All-State boys soccer squad

The VHSL released the Group 5A All-State boys soccer squad Thursday. Here’s the team.

2016 All-Group 5A Boys Soccer

Player of the year: Brendan Moyers, Albemarle

Coach of the year: Jeff Balnave, Albemarle

First Team

Forwards: Brendan Moyers, Albemarle; Shamarr Perry, Maury; Tyriq Wellman, Massaponax; Delio Cardenas, Edison; Miciah Brown, Hickory

Midfielders: Holden Fisher, Mills Godwin; Ben Ahrens, Mills Godwin; Jesse Riggs, Hickory; Nolan Poretz, Broad Run; Michael Scully, Stonebridge

Defenders: Will Martin, Mills Godwin; Griffin Coffey, Albemarle; Clay Smith, Hickory; Mohamed Zulikfely, Falls Church; Eiley Buckenmaier, Douglas Freeman

Goalie: Colin Shutler, Briar Woods

For the second team (no local representation) click here.